New U.N. Security Council members named

AFP, October 29, 1993

UNITED NATIONS, Oct 29 (AFP) - The U.N. General Assembly voted Friday to give the Czech Republic, Argentina, Oman and Rwanda four of the Security Council's 10 non-permanent seats.

A further vote will be needed to decide between Guinea Bissau, Nigeria and Belarus for the remaining seat that will open on December 31.

The new members will replace Venezuela, Hungary, Morocco, Cape Verde and Japan when they leave on December 31.

A two-thirds vote of the 184member assembly is needed to win a seat on the Security Council, where most of the United Nations' most important decisions are made.

The council consists of five permanent members (Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States) and 10 non-permanent members, half of whom are replaced every year.

ras/dkb/em AFP AFP